Predict your next investment

National Soccer Hall of Fame company logo

See what CB Insights has to offer

About National Soccer Hall of Fame

The National Soccer Hall of Fame (NSHOF) is a public-private partnership among FC Dallas, the City of Frisco, Frisco Independent School District and the U.S. Soccer Federation. It is based in Frisco, Texas.

National Soccer Hall of Fame Headquarter Location

9200 World Cup Way, Suite 600

Frisco, Texas, 75033,

United States

Latest National Soccer Hall of Fame News

Former U.S. Men’s National team captain and Alta Loma grad Carlos Bocanegra elected to National Soccer Hall of Fame

Sep 8, 2020

United States’ Carlos Bocanegra (3) celebrates after scoring the winning goal against Honduras during the second half of a South Africa 2010 World Cup qualifier soccer match in Chicago. Former U.S. national team defender Carlos Bocanegra will be the lone inductee to the National Soccer Hall of Fame for 2020. (AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh, File) PUBLISHED: | UPDATED: September 8, 2020 at 2:13 p.m. Former U.S. men’s national team captain Carlos Bocanegra, a graduate of Alta Loma High, was elected into the National Soccer Hall of Fame, Tuesday. Bocanegra, who played at UCLA, in Major League Soccer and in Europe, is the only member in the 2020 class. He will be enshrined next year along with the 2021 class. “This is a huge honor,” Bocanegra said in a video distributed by National Soccer Hall of Fame. “I’m still a little bit surprised and I don’t like being surprised too much. It’s a huge honor, I love representing the country especially on the global stage playing in the World Cup, I have so many memories with that. After leaving UCLA, he embarked on a 15-year professional career that saw him play for the Chicago Fire and Chivas USA, the English Premier League (Fulham), France’s Ligue 1 (Rennes and Saint Etienne) and Spain’s second division (Racing Santander). Bocanegra led the 1997 UCLA team to the NCAA championship. He is the sixth UCLA Bruin to be elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Brad Friedel (2018), Sigi Schmid (2015), Joe Max-Moore (2013), Cobi Jones (2011) and Paul Caligiuri (2004). “Being able to play soccer for a job, made so many friendships, got to see the world, experienced new cultures, got to learn about myself,” he said. “I kind of grew up through the game, this is a huge honor, I wasn’t expecting it, but I’m really proud to be elected.” Bocanegra, who played for the U.S. in the 2006 and 2010 World Cups, wore the captain’s armband in 64 of his 110 national team appearances. Bocanegra is currently the technical director and vice president of Atlanta United FC. The 2020 class was determined from a list of 42 finalists on the players ballot, 12 on the veterans ballot and 10 finalists in the builder ballot. Bocanegra was named on 68.5 percent of ballots. The threshold for election is 66.7 percent. Related Articles

Predict your next investment

The CB Insights tech market intelligence platform analyzes millions of data points on venture capital, startups, patents , partnerships and news mentions to help you see tomorrow's opportunities, today.

National Soccer Hall of Fame Web Traffic

Page Views per User (PVPU)
Page Views per Million (PVPM)
Reach per Million (RPM)
CBI Logo

National Soccer Hall of Fame Rank

CB Insights uses Cookies

CBI websites generally use certain cookies to enable better interactions with our sites and services. Use of these cookies, which may be stored on your device, permits us to improve and customize your experience. You can read more about your cookie choices at our privacy policy here. By continuing to use this site you are consenting to these choices.